Den första januari släpper Sigue Sigue Sputnik ett nytt album vid namn "Blak Elvis Vs the Kings of Electronic Rock and Roll". En skiva med enbart Elvis-covers. Gruppen beskriver i en pressrelease albumet med följande text:

"if elvis had a pink mohawk, read the wilde boys ... had a computer to fuck with HAL ... smoked weed with tapper zukie ... danced with donna summer ... had bolan, james williamson and bryan gregory on guitar with 200 TV channels plugged into his brain - all playing john waters movies, had the big beating drum machine locked on rock ... where it was japanese, russian, it was out of this world, that anything was possible, loved distortion and the cramps and suicide and was born in post pistols britain, the bastard child of ziggy ... and all of it made and processed on the machines of the future."
"that´s where we came in ... in 1985, watching blade runner on the video, with our tinny drum machine, a zebra skin guitar and a head full of glam ... and dreaming of what rock and roll would sound like in the year Elvis 2050.
16 years later, its 2001 ... now we have the computer power in our hand, G4, iBook. we can email every fan who ever bought a record of ours, can hear, see, and feel everything on the planet ... it would have been beyond our wildest dreams ... and I still want rock and roll to astound me."

Albumet "Blak Elvis Vs the Kings of Electronic Rock and Roll" innehåller följande låtar:

1. trailer
2. King of Rock and Roll
3. Hound Dogg
4. Heartbreak hotel (Chainsaw mix)
5. Always on my Mindwarp
6. Burning LUV
7. Shook Up
8. Double Trouble
9. Mystery Trainz
10. KanÕt Help falling in Love
11. King of Rock and Roll widescreen

För ytterligare information: